Steering Committee

The Coalition is chaired by Dr. Alvin Moss, Professor of Medicine in the Section of Nephrology at the West Virginia University School of Medicine. Dr. Moss is board-certified in internal medicine, nephrology, and hospice and palliative medicine. He is the Director of the West Virginia University Center for Health Ethics and Law and the Executive Director of the West Virginia Network of Ethics Committees. He led the Renal Physicians Association workgroup that revised the clinical practice guideline, Shared Decision-Making in the Appropriate Initiation of and Withdrawal from Dialysis, which was published in its second edition in 2010. Dr. Moss served as chair of the End-Stage Renal Disease Peer Workgroup, funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, which developed the Completing the Continuum of Nephrology Care: Recommendations to the Field report on renal palliative care. He was the 2011 recipient of the Renal Physicians Association’s Distinguished Service Award, and in 2015, he received the American Association of Kidney Patients’ Medal of Excellence Award. His research interests include dialysis ethics and improving care of chronic kidney disease patients at the end of life. He is a graduate of Harvard University and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.


Steering Committee Members 

Katherine Ast, MSW, LCSW

Director of Quality and Research
American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine
Chicago, IL

Judy Bartel, MSN

Hospice & Palliative Nurses Association
Cleveland, OH

Diana Headlee-Bell

Bentleyville, PA 

John Broyles

Coalition to Transform Advanced Care
Washington, DC

Lewis Cohen, MD

Baystate Medical Center
Springfield, MA

Helen Currier, BSN, RN

Director of Nursing Renal Services
Texas Children’s Hospital
Houston, TX 
Representing National Renal Administrators Association

Louis Diamond, MB, ChB

Quality Health Care Advisory Group
Rockville, MD
Representing Forum of ESRD Networks

Duane Dunn, MSW

National Director of Social Work
DaVita HealthCare Partners
Columbia, SC
Representing DaVita

Denise Eilers, BSN, RN

Family Member
Davenport, IA

Amaka Eneanya, MD

Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Mike Germain, MD

Western New England Renal & Transplant Associates
Springfield, MA

Judi Lund Person

National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization
Alexandria, VA

Richard Knight

New Carrollton, MD 
Representing American Association of Kidney Patients

Diane Meier, MD

Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai
New York, NY
Representing Center to Advance Palliative Care

Ann O’Hare, MD

VA Puget Sound Health Care
Seattle, WA
Representing American Society of Nephrology

Jeff Perlmutter, MD

Nephrology Associates of Montgomery County
Rockville, MD
Representing Mid-Atlantic Renal Coalition

Beth Piraino, MD

Professor of Medicine & Associate Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Representing National Kidney Foundation

Stephen Roberts, Esq

Corporate Counsel
Dialysis Clinic Inc.
Nashville, TN

Jane Schell, MD

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, PA

Rebecca Schmidt, DO

West Virginia University School of Medicine
Morgantown, WV
Representing Renal Physicians Association

Wendy Funk Schrag, LMSW, ACSW

FMC – Newton
Newton, KS
Representing Fresenius Medical Care

Mark Swidler, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine/Geriatrics/Palliative Medicine
Depts of Medicine/Renal; Geriatrics/Palliative Medicine
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, NY

Manjula Kurella Tamura, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Nephrology
Stanford University School of Medicine
Palo Alto, CA 

Adam Weinstein, MD

Kidney Health Center of Maryland
Easton, MD